In this exclusive Franchise Chatter FDD Talk post, you’ll learn the following:
Section I – Estimated initial investment (franchise costs) for a Caribou Coffee franchise, based on Item 7 of the company’s 2022 FDD
Section II – Initial franchise fee, royalty fee, and marketing fee for a Caribou Coffee franchise, based on Items 5 and 6 of the company’s 2022 FDD
"If I were considering buying a franchise today, checking territory availability would be one of my first steps — yet most buyers leave it until last." — Ambrosio, Franchise Chatter
🎯Find Best-Fit Franchises Still Available in Your Target Area (Free Tool)
When I owned a UPS Store, I learned firsthand how much your ZIP code shapes your outcome. I sold my store at a premium because my territory was in a high-value area. The best areas go first, and once they're gone, they're gone. Enter your ZIP code, and a territory specialist will walk you through the franchises still available near you, drawing on information that isn't publicly accessible — saving you months of wasted research.Section III – Number of franchised and company-owned Caribou Coffee outlets at the start of the year and the end of the year for 2019, 2020, and 2021, based on Item 20 of the company’s 2022 FDD
Section IV – News updates on the Caribou Coffee franchise opportunity
Section V – Presentation and analysis of Caribou Coffee’s financial performance representations (average revenues and/or profits), based on Item 19 of the company’s 2022 FDD, including information on the:
- 2021 average, median, high, and low sales for the 119 active licensed Kiosk locations as of December 28, 2021 that recorded sales for the entirety of fiscal year 2021, grouped by venue type (grocery, grocery with drive-thru, airport, all other)
- 2021 average, median, high, and low gross sales for the 97 company-owned Drive-Thru Chalet locations and 9 company-owned Cabin Coffeehouse locations that were active as of December 28, 2021 and recorded sales for the entirety of fiscal year 2021
- 2021 average cost of goods sold, labor, operating expense, marketing expense, occupancy, cash flow, royalty, marketing fee, additional franchisee-related COGS, and franchisee-adjusted cash flow for the 97 company-owned Drive-Thru Chalet locations and 9 company-owned Cabin Coffeehouse locations that were active as of December 28, 2021 and recorded sales for the entirety of fiscal year 2021
Section VI – Key ratios, comparables, computations, and analyses for the Caribou Coffee franchise opportunity (exclusive content for Platinum subscribers)
Section I – Caribou Coffee Franchise Costs
- Caribou Coffee franchise costs, based on Item 7 of the company’s 2022 FDD:
Kiosk
- Architecture and Design Fee: $5,000 to $25,000
- Leasehold Improvements/Construction Costs: $45,000 to $250,000
- Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment: $135,000 to $190,000
- Signage: $5,000 to $10,000
- Initial Franchise Fee: $15,000
- Lease: no amount specified
- Business Licenses and Permits: $100 to $1,300
- Initial Inventory: $10,000 to $15,000
- Technology Costs: $10,000 to $16,000
- New Store Opening Launch Program: $3,000
- Professional Fees: $2,000 to $10,000
- Initial Training Expenses: $2,000 to $6,000
- Additional Funds for 3 Months: $17,000 to $65,000
- Total Estimated Caribou Coffee Kiosk Franchise Costs (excluding lease): $249,100 to $606,300
Cabin
- Architecture and Design Fee: $15,000 to $25,000
- Leasehold Improvements/Construction Costs: $120,000 to $215,000
- Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment: $140,000 to $180,000
- Signage: $45,000 to $75,000
- Initial Franchise Fee: $30,000
- Lease: amount not specified
- Business Licenses and Permits: $100 to $1,300
- Initial Inventory: $12,000 to $20,000
- Technology Costs: $38,000 to $47,000
- New Store Opening Launch Program: $8,000
- Professional Fees: $2,000 to $15,000
- Initial Training Expenses: $2,000 to $6,000
- Additional Funds for 3 Months: $34,000 to $110,000
- Total Estimated Caribou Coffee Cabin Franchise Costs (excluding lease): $446,100 to $732,300
Chalet
"No time to attend live? Register now and we'll send you the full recording the next day." — Ambrosio, Franchise Chatter
🔴Free Webinar: 6 Under-the-Radar Franchise Concepts That Serious Buyers Should Know
Every month we feature 6 standout franchises that could be the opportunity you've been looking for — each evaluated on disclosed financials and matched to the type of buyer most likely to succeed with it. You'll walk away knowing exactly how to analyze franchise fit. Join us live on September 29 at 6PM EST, or receive the recording the next day. Reserve your spot here.- Architecture and Design Fee: $30,000 to $35,000
- Leasehold Improvements/Construction Costs: $270,000 to $510,000
- Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment: $255,000 to $320,000
- Signage: $30,000 to $50,000
- Initial Franchise Fee: $30,000
- Lease: amount not specified
- Business Licenses and Permits: $100 to $1,300
- Initial Inventory: $12,000 to $20,000
- Technology Costs: $44,000 to $55,000
- New Store Opening Launch Program: $10,000
- Professional Fees: $2,000 to $15,000
- Initial Training Expenses: $2,000 to $6,000
- Additional Funds for 3 Months: $37,000 to $94,000
- Total Estimated Caribou Coffee Chalet Franchise Costs (excluding lease): $722,100 to $1,146,300
Section II – Caribou Coffee’s Initial Franchise Fee, Royalty Fee, and Marketing Fee
- Caribou Coffee’s initial franchise fee, royalty fee, and marketing fee, based on Items 5 and 6 of the company’s 2022 FDD:
- Initial Franchise Fee: Cabin and Chalet: $30,000; Kiosk: $15,000
- Royalty: Cabin and Chalet: 5% of Gross Sales; Kiosk: 6% of Gross Sales (4% of Gross Sales for Kiosks located in non-traditional airport facilities)
- Minimum Royalty Fee: $6,000 per year
- Marketing Contribution: up to 3% of Gross Sales; currently, allocated as 2% to the Brand Fund and 1% to be spent by you on local marketing and promotion
Section III – Number of Franchised and Company-Owned Caribou Coffee Outlets
Franchised
2019
- Outlets at the Start of the Year: 126
- Outlets at the End of the Year: 130
- Net Change: +4
2020
- Outlets at the Start of the Year: 130
- Outlets at the End of the Year: 132
- Net Change: +2
2021
- Outlets at the Start of the Year: 132
- Outlets at the End of the Year: 139
- Net Change: +7
Company-Owned
2019
- Outlets at the Start of the Year: 321
- Outlets at the End of the Year: 317
- Net Change: -4
2020
- Outlets at the Start of the Year: 317
- Outlets at the End of the Year: 316
- Net Change: -1
2021
"I've seen too many serious franchise buyers fall in love with a brand only to discover their territory is gone by the time they contact the franchisor. This tool was built to prevent exactly that." — Ambrosio, Franchise Chatter
⏳Find Out Which Franchises Are Still Available in Your Area Before It's Too Late
Most franchise buyers spend months researching brands and building excitement — unaware that their preferred territory could be snapped up at any moment. By the time they contact the franchisor, their preferred territory may already be taken. Enter your ZIP code — a territory specialist will verify exactly which franchises are still available right where you want to be.- Outlets at the Start of the Year: 316
- Outlets at the End of the Year: 321
- Net Change: +5
Section IV – News Updates on the Caribou Coffee Franchise
Section V – Financial Performance Representations (Average Revenues and/or Profits) for the Caribou Coffee Franchise (Item 19, 2022 FDD)
- The information presented in this Item 19 is a compilation of financial information that has not been audited. The tables should be read together with all of the related information about the factual basis and material assumptions underlying them.
Basis and Assumptions
- The sales and expense information that follows, and other related data in this Item 19, has been compiled using data provided to Caribou Coffee by non-traditional licensed “Kiosk” locations for Caribou Coffee’s 2021 fiscal year (ended December 28, 2021), and unaudited financial data from certain types of company-owned Caribou Coffee Coffeehouse locations (Chalets and Cabins).
- The Chalet and Cabin information is provided for only Drive-Thru Chalet and Cabin Coffeehouses because these location types are the focus of development for new Coffeehouses by franchisees.
- The results in Parts 2 and 3 include results from company-owned Drive-Thru Chalet and Cabin Coffeehouses (there were no franchised Chalet Coffeehouses during these time periods). These Coffeehouses are defined as follows:
- Chalet: Caribou Coffee’s most prevalent Coffeehouse format, approximating 1,500 square feet, providing full coffee bar, food options, and dine-in space. Chalet Coffeehouses may operate with or without drive-thru capabilities, although Caribou Coffee expects new franchised Chalet Coffeehouses will include drive-thru capabilities. Coffeehouse locations include suburban, urban, central business district, office, airport, mall, and some grocery store locations.
- Cabin: Caribou Coffee’s newest Coffeehouse format, approximating 600 square feet, built as a drive-thru only concept equipped with a walk-up window. This Coffeehouse format provides a full coffee bar, limited food options, and an outside patio seating/dining space. Five Coffeehouses of this type were opened in late 2019, four were opened in 2020, and 13 were opened in 2021.
- The tables and notes in this Item provide financial performance data that are historical, and that are based on information from existing Caribou Coffee Coffeehouses that were active as of December 28, 2021 and had sales for entire fiscal 2021, unless otherwise specified.
Part 1 – 2021 Kiosk (Non-Traditional) Gross Sales Distribution
- The results in Part 1 represent reported sales volumes for licensed Kiosk Coffeehouses, both with and without a drive-thru. Kiosk Coffeehouses are Caribou Coffee’s only franchised Coffeehouses. There were 119 active licensed Kiosk locations as of December 28, 2021 that recorded sales for the entirety of fiscal 2021.
- Results from new Kiosk openings in 2021 were excluded, as well as results from Kiosks that closed during, or for part of, the year. 20 Kiosk Coffeehouses that were not open for the full year were excluded from the results for that reason.
Grocery
- Number of Stores: 61
- Average Sales: $264,729
- Number of Stores Exceeding Average: 27
- Median Sales: $237,915
- High Sales: $921,524
- Low Sales: $88,332
Grocery with Drive-Thru
- Number of Stores: 32
- Average Sales: $553,928
- Number of Stores Exceeding Average: 13
- Median Sales: $478,587
- High Sales: $1,245,064
- Low Sales: $215,308
Airport
- Number of Stores: 7
- Average Sales: $1,368,347
- Number of Stores Exceeding Average: 4
- Median Sales: $1,771,092
- High Sales: $2,769,496
- Low Sales: $348,830
All Other
- Number of Stores: 19
- Average Sales: $345,906
- Number of Stores Exceeding Average: 11
- Median Sales: $350,465
- High Sales: $781,790
- Low Sales: $86,361
Part 2 – 2021 Chalet and Cabin Sales Distribution Information
- Part 2 below organizes the information based on the sales volume of the company-owned Drive-Thru Chalet and Cabin Coffeehouse locations for the 52-week period that started on December 30, 2020 and ended on December 28, 2021.
Drive-Thru Chalet
- Over $1,200,000: 29 stores (29.9%)
- $1,000,000 to $1,200,000: 29 stores (29.9%)
- $800,000 to $1,000,000: 20 stores (20.6%)
- $600,000 to $800,000: 15 stores (15.5%)
- Less Than $600,000: 4 stores (4.1%)
- Total: 97 stores (100.0%)
- Average Gross Sales: $1,070,486
- Number of Stores Achieving Equal or Greater Than Average Sales: 50
- Median Gross Sales: $1,078,280
- Highest Gross Sales Unit: $1,834,112
- Lowest Gross Sales Unit: $450,542
Cabin
- Over $1,200,000: 4 stores (44.4%)
- $1,000,000 to $1,200,000: 2 stores (22.2%)
- $800,000 to $1,000,000: 2 stores (22.2%)
- $600,000 to $800,000: 1 store (11.2%)
- Less Than $600,000: 0 stores (0%)
- Total: 9 stores (100.0%)
- Average Gross Sales: $1,116,560
- Number of Stores Achieving Equal or Greater Than Average Sales: 5
- Median Gross Sales: $1,120,999
- Highest Gross Sales Unit: $1,438,650
- Lowest Gross Sales Unit: $771,976
- The results in Part 2 were for gross sales volumes for Company-Owned Coffeehouses of the type noted, all having a drive-thru. There were 97 Company-Owned Drive-Thru Chalet Coffeehouse locations and nine Company-Owned Drive-Thru Cabin Coffeehouse locations that were active as of December 28, 2021 and recorded sales for the entirety of fiscal 2021.
- New Coffeehouse openings in 2021 are excluded from this data as well as results from Coffeehouses that were closed during, or for part of, the year. 17 Drive-Thru Chalet and Cabin Coffeehouses that were not open for the full year were excluded from the results for that reason.
- Cash flow rates for the sales tiers in Part 2 for the 12 months ending December 28, 2021 were:
Drive-Thru Chalet, Grouped by Cash Flow % Range
- >25%: 58 stores (AUV: $1,209,711)
- 20-25%: 16 stores (AUV: $960,745)
- 15-20%: 10 stores (AUV: $882,056)
- 10-15%: 7 stores (AUV: $787,159)
- <10%: 6 stores (AUV: $661,894)
- All: 97 stores (AUV: $1,070,486)
Cabin, Grouped by Cash Flow % Range
- >25%: 5 stores (AUV: $1,229,445)
- 20-25%: 1 store (AUV: $1,380,885)
- 15-20%: 3 stores (AUV: $840,300)
- 10-15%: 0 stores (AUV: N/A)
- <10%: 0 stores (AUV: N/A)
- All: 9 stores (AUV: $1,116,560)
- “Cash Flow” means profit after deducting the following costs and excludes depreciation, expressed as a percentage of Gross Sales: cost of goods sold; labor (including store manager labor); operating, marketing, and occupancy expenses.
- Note that company-owned Chalet Coffeehouse Cash Flow presented in the table above does not include franchisee related costs such as royalties, product purchases, and other fees. Store leadership overhead and corporate overhead (or general and administrative expenses) is not included in Cash Flow.
Part 3 – Expense Distribution
- Part 3 below organizes the information based on the sales and expense factors incurred at the 97 company-owned Caribou Coffee Drive-Thru Chalets and the nine company-owned Caribou Coffee Cabin locations for the trailing 12-month period ending December 28, 2021.
Drive-Thru Chalet
- Number of Stores: 97
- Cash Flow Percentage: 25.9%
Company-Owned Expense Rates
- COGS %: 24.5%
- Labor %: 29.5%
- Operating Expense %: 8.5%
- Marketing Expense %: 2.0%
- Occupancy %: 9.6%
Additional Franchisee-Related Cost Rates
- Royalty: 5.0%
- Marketing: 1.0%
- Additional Franchisee-Related COGS: 5% to 8%
- Franchisee-Adjusted Cash Flow %: 12% to 15%
Cabin
- Number of Stores: 9
- Cash Flow Percentage: 24.2%
Company-Owned Expense Rates
- COGS %: 23.0%
- Labor %: 32.9%
- Operating Expense %: 8.6%
- Marketing Expense %: 2.0%
- Occupancy %: 9.3%
Additional Franchisee-Related Cost Rates
- Royalty: 5.0%
- Marketing: 1.0%
- Additional Franchisee-Related COGS: 5% to 8%
- Franchisee-Adjusted Cash Flow %: 10% to 13%
- The information and results provided in Part 3 are based on Caribou Coffee’s affiliate’s experience operating company-owned Coffeehouses in fiscal 2021, and should not be considered as the actual or potential costs that you will incur, nor will they be static over time given costs will vary with changes in market prices of key commodities such as coffee and dairy.
- Please also note that in addition, because these are the results of company-owned Coffeehouses, these company-owned figures do not include costs that a franchisee will incur, such as royalties, incremental distribution and product costs that affect the franchisee COGS rate, fees, and the amortized portion of the initial franchise fee (if it was financed).
- Additionally, for some items, Caribou Coffee allocates internal charges to owned Coffeehouses that are less than the price charged to or will be incurred by a franchisee, because of Caribou Coffee’s own internal accounting procedures, so as a result a franchisee will incur additional costs.
- Furthermore, company-owned Coffeehouses may experience economies of scale in distribution and freight costs which may not extend to a franchisee. However, Caribou Coffee has estimated an approximate impact on cash flow rate for a franchisee based on expected terms of the franchise agreement.
- New Chalet and Cabin Coffeehouse openings in 2021 are excluded from the results in Part 3 as well as results from such Coffeehouses that were closed during, or for part of, the year. 17 Chalet and Cabin Coffeehouses that were not open for the full year were excluded from the results in Part 3 for that reason.
- The rates shown are the arithmetic averages of the results of the cost factors as a percentage of Gross Sales.
- COGS is the total cost of products sold including the cost of coffee, beverage ingredients, food, paper, and other products. Franchisees will incur additional COGS costs, such as incremental product costs, that are adjusted in the table.
- Labor includes hourly and salaried employee compensation, bonuses, taxes, and benefits at the store level, but does not include corporate store leadership overhead.
- Operating expenses include ordinary operating maintenance and repairs, planned and unplanned maintenance and repairs, supplies, and other miscellaneous operating expenses.
- Marketing expenses relate to all marketing spend.
- Occupancy expenses include rent, CAM, utilities, and real estate taxes.
- Cash Flow means profit after deducting the following costs and excluding depreciation, expressed as a percentage of Gross Sales: COGS; labor (including store manager labor); and operating, marketing, and occupancy expenses. Note that company-owned Cash Flow presented in the table above does not include franchisee-related costs such as royalties, product purchases, and other fees. However, as noted below, an amount of marketing expense included above would count toward franchisee ad fund rates. Store leadership overhead and corporate overhead (or general and administrative expenses) is not included in Cash Flow.
- The above costs and Cash Flow rates do not include adjustments for any franchisee expenses, such as royalty fees and marketing contributions, that Caribou Coffee does not incur for its own company-owned Coffeehouses, but that a franchisee would incur.
- COGS rates that the company-owned Coffeehouses experience also reflect efficiencies within the cost of distribution given the geographic concentration of Coffeehouses in Minnesota and surrounding market. Distribution costs will vary based on the geography of the franchised Coffeehouses.
- In addition, because Caribou Coffee operates many company-owned Coffeehouses, it may have some labor-related efficiencies in the operation of its company-owned Coffeehouses that are not available to franchisees.
- You will incur other substantial costs in the operation of your Coffeehouse that are not included in this discussion, including, among others, local marketing expenses, mortgage or other debt/financing costs, computer upgrades, renovations, improvements and major repair/maintenance expenses, legal and professional fees, income and other non-real estate taxes, and various other expenses (together, these are referred to as “Additional Costs”). You will incur Additional Costs and should determine and account, for yourself, the Additional Costs that you will have to have to pay.
- Some Coffeehouses have sold these amounts. Your individual results may differ materially. There is no assurance you will sell as much.
Section VI – Caribou Coffee Franchise Ratios, Comparables, Computations, and Analyses (Exclusive Content for Platinum Subscribers) ⬇️
To Access the Rest of This Article and Other Premium, Income-Enhancing Content, Subscribe Now or Log In.
Gain the Insider Information (and Actual Earnings Data) You Need to Make a Safe and Smart Franchise Investment. Click Here to Learn More.
"Multi-unit ownership is where the real wealth in franchising is built — and it starts with one key decision: choosing a brand with enough territory runway to grow into." — Ambrosio, Franchise Chatter
📈Dreaming of Multi‑Unit Success? Lock In Prime Territories Before They're Gone.
Colin started as a team member at 21 — he now owns 6 locations in Tampa Bay. Lisa came from marketing and built 21 in San Diego. The most successful multi-unit owners move early and secure markets with room to grow. Use our free tool to search multiple ZIP codes and find franchises where you can still stack locations — before someone else does. A franchise specialist will be in touch to present what's available.
The Best of Franchise Chatter
🥇The Most Profitable Franchises of 2026
🥈Franchises Ranked by Average Revenues
🥉Franchises Ranked by Average Profits
🏆Franchise Winners, Survivors & Losers
Franchise Chatter is reader-supported. We may receive a commission for leads generated from affiliate links and banners on our site.



Leave a Reply